I Want To Find A Job.

By Matthew Hobson

“According to the U.S. Census Bureau and the Department of Labor, over 41 million Americans currently deal with the challenges of disability, including an unemployment rate in excess of 72%. In addition, 13 million Americans have a ‘go-outside-the-home’ disability.”

- National Telecommuting Institute

People can often overlook those of us with disabilities like we have nothing to offer.

Employers seem uninterested or too afraid to give us a chance to prove what we can do. The jobs we can do vary as much as we do. The types of jobs for people with disabilities can obviously depend on the type of disability the person has. I want a job where I can use my typing ability. I do not have any other skill since I do not have the ability to use my hands well to do many jobs.

“Employers who hire people with disabilities find we can positively impact their bottom line. Recruitment and retention of employees with disabilities involves the employment of members of an untapped labor pool – one that can offer a source of skilled employees. As employees, people with disabilities can contribute to increased retention and a reduction of employee turnover; we are reliable employees who enjoy working. There are also tax incentives in place, as well as technical assistance that can assist with any accommodations that might be needed. Most of the time, any disability accommodations needed are both minor and inexpensive.”

- Wendy Taormina-Weiss
Disabled World News

In my personal experience, I have found it very difficult to find a job.

I have more desire to work than I can show.  But I also have abilities. I can type. In today’s overly technological world everything is done by typing on computer, iPad, or some other typing device.

The frustration grows as months pass by. I worked hard in order to get my degree at Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis, same as the rest of the students. I want to make the world a better place. With a job, each person finds fulfillment and self-respect. I want to earn a living, not be given a check from social security. All I need is an opportunity to work.

The world is slowly recognizing what people with disabilities have to offer. Something needs to change people’s attitudes toward the employment of people with disabilities.

One Response

  1. I could not agree more reagrding the inability of persons with disabilities to get a job. I work with Adult who have some intellectual disabilities that live independently. I have tried sending letters to community leaders, business leaders, schools, Churches, Hospitals, Convalescent Hospitals, Skilled Nursing Facilities, and some of the well known small businesses in the area. I sent out 150 letters asking if we could meet with them regarding what we have to offer them. I received 4 responses and none of those wanted to meet with us,

    One of the hospitals actually told us that it was impossible for any of the people I serve to volunteer there because they could not pass the training. Even when we offered ways for us to help these people to pass we were told absolutely not. When I tried to contact the leaders at the hospital I got no response at all.. THis is one of the leading hospitals in the area too!

    I don’t know what the answer is as far as how to get involved in the community. When I offer volunteer help to places in the community and there is no one open to even that when the people I am offering have developmental disabilities there is something seriously wrong.

    How do we challenge the communities we live in to meet the people I serve and get to know them? How do we show the communities we live in that those we serve are capable of doing many things, including participating in the work of the community?

    I am trying to set up meetings with people in business in the community and not having luck. This is not due to the economy, it is lack of education and lack of understanding of those people that happen to have intellectual disabilities.

    I don’t have answers right now, but I am open to any ideas.

What do you think?

